Daily Archives: February 2, 2009

Stuff and Things.

Snow, snow snow.

Falling from the sky, covering everything in sight with a thick, crunchy layer of innocence and nationwide paralysis.

Or so I’m told. Us lucky sods in Bristol seem to have managed to avoid every last flake. Tucked away in the snug little crevice between Wales and the southern leg of England, the UK’s sweaty little cleavage stays nicely sheltered from any unwanted attacks of that awful stuff. A taxi driver once told me that his two sons had never seen snow, I seem to remember they were aged around five and seven. Now, I’ve learnt to take things that taxi drivers say with a sizeable pinch of salt, but then as the old saying goes, there’s no smoke without fire. (Or a smoke machine, guffawz. That isn’t smoke you silly buggers.) But I haven’t gathered you here today to moan about snow, or the lack thereof.

No, I have updates.

First of all, I would like to extend an invitation to you, dear reader, to the Brap Vs Void Winter Warmer All Dayer. Taking place on Saturday 21st February 2009, at The Farm pub, St. Werberghs, Bristol.Image
Image
SOUTH COAST ONLINE COMMUNITY OUTOFTHEVOID.CO.UK AND INTERNET RADIO STATION BRAP.FM PROUDLY PRESENT

VOID vs BRAP WINTER WARMER ALL DAYER
SATURDAY 21 FEBRUARY 2009 AT THE FARM (BRISTOL)

PART OF OXJAM MUSIC FESTIVAL SUPPORTING OXFAM

South Coast dance music scene online community http://WWW.OUTOFTHEVOID.CO.UK and Brighton based internet radio station http://WWW.BRAP.FM are joining forces for an all dayer charity fundraiser party! The list of DJs involved is as diverse as it gets, serving up all sorts of musical styles including dubstep, hiphop, breakbeat, jungle, breakcore, techno, house and much much more.

The event will be taking place The Farm, Hopetoun Road, St Werburghs, Bristol, BS2 9YL Click here for map.

1pm – 2pm … ollspin … hiphop, funk, jazz
2pm – 5pm … Dr Fish vs HiHat … hiphop, funk, breaks
5pm – 6pm … Jellybass (dj set) – dubstep, bigbeat, hiphop
6pm – 7pm … Mr Minimax … electro, techno, breaks
7pm – 8pm … odc04r … house, breaks, electro
8pm – 9pm … Paulie P … house, electro, techno
9pm – 10pm … DVNT … techno, breaks, darkfloor
10pm – 11pm … Deadman DJ … jungle, drum&bass, electronica
11pm – 12am … Boy Hoover … breakcore, gabba, hardcore
12am – 1am … JDO … dubstep

All proceeds from this event will be donated to Oxfam as part of Oxjam music festival. At previous events in 2007 and 2008 we have raised almost £1500 for Oxfam. We hope to continue this fundraising success long into the future.

Now, for some reason I have been listen on the flyer as playing Minimal Techno and Progressive Breaks… Anyone hoping for a bit of deep, spacey Max, I regret to inform you that this will not be the case. I will instead by playing a set of “proper electro” funky acid, hip hop, wonky techno and a bit of ghetto tech thrown in there for good measure. As much as I would have liked to bring a bit of deepsexy techno to the line up, I hardly think it would transition well from Hip Hop, Funk and Bigbeat, into darker, heavier territory as the night progressed, and after all, electro badness is much more my style. For anyone who hasn’t been to the Farm, it’s a lovely pub, good selection of beers and ciders, and with all that great music for free, there’s really no excuse not to get yourself down there.

In the lead up to this, I will be doing a guest set on Void head-honcho Ollspin’s Sunday Roast radio show on good old Brap.FM.  That’ll be taking place on Sunday 15th Feb, 6pm – 8pm GMT.  I’ll be playing the same sort of tracks as I will be at The Farm, so any fans of Electro, Bass and Acid, be sure to tune in, and anyone who isn’t already a fan, tune in and find out what you’re missing. Maybe I could convert you…

In other news, a little change of plan in the Valentines Lucid line up, means that I am now playing 2 sets! I’ll be in the main room, early on in the night, playing big, fat, dirty breaks and psy-breaks, then after that I’ll hop over to room 2, where I will be taking things down a slightly more experimental route, lots of glitchy rhythms, bits of techno, step, electro.

I’m pretty sure that’s about it from me for today. I really aught to get round to uploading a few of those mixes I spoke about all those weeks ago… maybe later.